Popular Summer Dates/Availability Update as of 5.13.2021

We make this list periodically so that you can quickly check for ideas. For the most up-to-date info, check the box in the upper right hand corner of our web pages or better yet, email stay@bearskin.com or give us call (218)388-2292 or (800)338-4170. Availability changes often in this era, so if you can’t get your dates then give us a call — we might eventually get you into your perfect spot.

Summer Availability by Week

  • Late May – Early June: Many options available
  • Thursday, June 24 – Sunday, June 27: Cabin 8, Cabin 11
  • Saturday, June 26 – Saturday, July 3: FULL
  • Sunday, June 27 – Sunday, July 4: FULL
  • Saturday, July 3 – Saturday, July 10: FULL
  • Sunday, July 4 – Sunday, July 11: FULL
  • Saturday, July 10 – Saturday, July 17: FULL
  • Sunday, July 11 – Sunday, July 18: FULL
  • Saturday, July 17 – Saturday, July 24: FULL
  • Sunday, July 18 – Sunday, July 25: FULL
  • Saturday, July 24 – Saturday, July 31: FULL
  • Sunday, July 25 – Sunday, August 1: FULL
  • Saturday, July 31 – Saturday, August 7: FULL
  • Sunday, August 1 – Sunday, August 8: FULL
  • Saturday, August 7 – Saturday, August 14: FULL
  • Sunday, August 8 – Sunday, August 15: FULL
  • Saturday, August 14 – Saturday, August 21: FULL
  • Sunday, August 15 – Sunday, August 22: FULL
  • Saturday, August 21 – Saturday, August 28: FULL
  • Sunday, August 22 – Sunday, August 29: Lodge 2

Only Cabin 8 and Lodge 4 are open for stays of less than one week from late June until the end of August. All other cabins and lodges book for full weeks, Saturday to Saturday on the west side of the resort and Sunday to Sunday in the lodges and on the east side of the resort. If we have last-minute openings close to the dates, we often break a week up into shorter stays.

 

Fall Availability by Weekend

If summer 2021 is any indicator of how busy Bearskin will be, it may be wise to book your fall trip early. Here is the current availability to help you start a plan.  For the latest info, use the Check Availability box in the upper right-hand corner of our page or, even easier, call us.

  • Friday, September 3 – Monday, September 6 (Labor Day): Cabin 9, Cabin 10, Cabin 11
  • Friday, September 10 – Sunday, September 12: Cabin 7, Cabin 8, Cabin 10, Cabin 11, Lodge 2, Lodge 4
  • Friday, September 17 – Sunday, September 19: Cabin 2, Cabin 6, Cabin 8, Cabin 9, Cabin 10, Lodge 1, Lodge 3, Lodge 4
  • Friday, September 24 – Sunday, September 26: Cabin 8, Lodge 2, Lodge 3
  • Friday, October 1 – Sunday, October 3: Cabin 3, Cabin 6, Cabin 7, Cabin 8, Cabin 9, Cabin 10, Lodge 2, Lodge 3, Lodge 4
  • Friday, October 8 – Sunday, October 10: Cabin 2, Cabin 3, Cabin 4, Cabin 7, Cabin 9, Cabin 10, Lodge 3, Lodge 4
  • Friday, October 15 – Sunday, October 17: Cabin 1, Cabin 2, Cabin 6, Cabin 7, Cabin 8, Cabin 9, Cabin 10, Cabin 11, Lodge 1, Lodge 3, Lodge 4
  • Thursday, October 21 – Sunday, October 24 (MEA): Cabin 1, Cabin 2, Cabin 7, Cabin 8, Cabin 10, Cabin 11, Lodge 1, Lodge 2, Lodge 4

 


 

CONSTRUCTION INFORMATION: The rebuilding of Cabin 6 is well underway. There will be outdoor construction sounds at the resort in the winter, and more muffled indoor construction sounds until mid-June 2021 on weekdays during working hours. We doubt you will even notice noise for most of the construction time, but Bearskin takes pride in how quiet we normally keep this resort. Unfortunately, without a magic wand there’s no way to replace a burned-down cabin without some sounds. 


General summer availability info: 

A large percentage of Bearskin cabins and lodges are reserved one year ahead of time for prime summer dates, but we always end up with a few changes and cancellations over time.  As we get close to summer, this page is regularly updated with a listing of current openings. You can also use the availability box in the upper right-hand corner of the pages to check your options.  Or give us a call for the most accurate current information.

During peak season (late June – late August) most Bearskin cabins are rented for full weeks.  Cabin 8 and Lodge 4 are always available for shorter stays. We usually open up cabins for shorter stays if they are still unbooked 2-3 weeks before the dates. If you need specific dates for a shorter stay, call us — we might be able to make it work, especially if your dates include the first or last half of a full week. Sometimes we can break weeks in two parts, especially if the dates you want don’t come out of the middle of the week. (Start or end on a weekend, instead of starting and ending mid-week.) Talk to our front desk staff about options. We can frequently make something work for you, especially if you have some date flexibility.

Can you stay at Bearskin for less than a full week?

Yes! But you may have to reserve early to get the shorter stay cabins at popular times in mid-summer.  Full week rentals are in force for many (but not all) cabins during the busiest, high-demand times of summer. Don’t let the number of days  worry you if you are a fall, winter, spring or early summer traveler; this is strictly a mid-summer, busy season policy for our most popular summer cabins.

Cabin 8 and Lodge 4 can usually be rented for shorter stays, even during peak summer dates.  We prefer 3 night minimum stays, as it gives you enough time to enjoy our area; sometimes we have 2 night openings available.  Single night openings are rare; providing one night of lodging is a different kind of business than we offer here at Bearskin.

One night openings often may be arranged for groups of people who are renting canoes and gear from Bearskin Wilderness Outfitters; arrange these rentals through the outfitters when you book your canoe trip.  For other one night stays we encourage you to call one of the many nice motels in Grand Marais, which are in business for the purpose of single-night, transitory lodging. 

How long should you stay?

To truly experience the Gunflint Trail area wilderness ambiance, especially if you make a lengthy drive to get here,  it helps to be here long enough to slow down and begin to appreciate our unique environment. Most guests will spend the better part of a day driving to get here, with an equally long drive to get home. You’ll have more fun if you give yourself time to enjoy your destination.

We offer primarily full week rentals in the summer because it makes a much better family experience. In the other seasons, we encourage you to give yourself at least 3 nights unless you are driving from a closer city, such as Duluth. Many guests drive here for a weekend from all around Minnesota and Wisconsin, often spending 5 – 8 hours in the car. We know how precious time off from a job can be, but do consider finding a way to stay longer than 2 nights. From many locations a two – night stay results in only one day of enjoyment surrounded by two days of long drives. True story: Nobody has ever checked out and said, “I wish I had stayed a shorter time,” but the majority of people checking out after two nights express their regret over not staying longer. You will come away with better memories if you give yourself enough time to make them.